Runners wearing short shorts

running2.jpgWhen I first became a runner in 1997, I chose to wear what I thought runner’s wear, and at that time, I thought runners wore short shorts, granted at first I did feel silly wearing them, but after a while, I saw the difference and felt that there was no changing.  I’ve been reading many different views and opinions on this subject and the one thing that stands out is that the majority who race prefer the short shorts.  I have 3 reasons why I prefer them especially in warmer weather and they are:  1) Free range of movement while running, 2) sweating, & 3) Less or no chafing.  There are times I do wear longer shorts when running and that is when the temps are cooler, or I’ll wear spandex.  I have seen online some short running shorts that go way shorter than I will ever allow for myself.  Some are what I would call “Legitimate” for the “Pro’s” and others I would call “inappropriate” which are way too short no matter the type of runner.  I’ve seen  opinions that people are concerned what others would think if they wore short shorts and my view on that is to be concerned with your “why” or “reason” you are wearing them.  It’s like a uniform, to be used for specific reasons.  You wouldn’t wear them to a social function or a business meeting.  Check out this video which I think says it all:

7 thoughts on “Runners wearing short shorts

  1. Hello There. I found your weblog the use of msn. This is an extremely smartly written
    article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  2. Hey there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and
    personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  3. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great
    author. I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will
    often come back very soon. I want to encourage yourself to continue
    your great work, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

